Thursday 28 November 2013

Winter Invitation

It was great to welcome 93 ladies today to play in our Winter Invitation, 38 of whom were guests invited by Chesfield Ladies.  5 local clubs: Barkway, Heydon Grange, Letchworth, Mill Green and Mt Pleasant entered teams of 4.

Starters, Gerry Clark and Brian Feaver, saw the Ladies off on the 1st & the 10th tees for this individual 9-hole Stableford Competition but only after the ladies had posed for photos that were enhanced with a few props, including ear muffs, a reindeer headband and a pink feather duster!!!  (Check out the slideshow to see them all.)

Playing 9 holes only on the front and the back meant that there were 2 competitions on the go at the same time, producing plenty of winners for the day.

Guest, nearest the pin on the front - Elaine Knobel-Forbes (Heydon Grange)
Member, nearest the pin on the front - Pauline Harrisson

Guest, nearest the pin on the back - June Harper (Knebworth)
Member, nearest the pin on the back - Gillian Treanor

Guest, longest drive on the front - Claudine Tate
Member, longest drive on the front - Sarah Faircliff

Guest, longest drive on the back - June Harper (Knebworth)
Member, longest drive on the back -  Margaret Wilson

Overall, in 3rd place was Kathy Dale on the front with 18 points (c/b) and Amanda Macknight on the back with 18 points (c/b).

In 2nd place was Jill Bransby on the front with 18 points (c/b) and Mandy Unger on the back with 18 points (c/b).

In 1st place was Alison Webber on the front with 19 points and Diane Chapman on the back with 20 points.

Congratulations to all of the winners and many thanks to the rest of the ladies for taking part.  Thanks too to our volunteers for ensuring that the day went smoothly: Tom Wood & Joan Meek for registration, Liz Cooke for selling raffle tickets and Gerry Clark and Brian Feaver, our starters and photographers.

We held our last raffle of the year in aid of CLIC Sargent and raised £391 - Fantastic!

Our last big occasion of this year will take place on Thursday 12th Dec, when we will play our Xmas Greensomes and celebrate the festive season with mulled wine and mince pies.  We will present Lucia Martinez from CLIC Sargent with a cheque for all we have raised this year.  Lucia is going to update us on how our money might be spent to help families of children with cancer.

Tuesday 19 November 2013

Club Woman of the Year

Congratulations to Virginia Chan who is the 2013 winner of Club Woman of the Year.

I awarded this prestigious trophy to Virginia for all her considerable work on the Ladies' Captain's blog and forum, together with her work setting up the Ladies' web pages.  Virginia has prepared a user's guide and an administrator's guide to help us all get started on using the blog and forum, as well as giving one-to-one tutorials to those who needed it.  The blog and forum mark an important step forward for the Ladies Section.  We are now able to publicise our successes and achievements much more widely than before, as well as improve our means of communication and information sharing throughout the Section.  You may have noticed too that the Club have used our blog posts throughout the year in their newsletters, which they circulate to all members of the Club, keeping everyone up to date with what goes on in the Ladies.

You might ask yourself why Virginia is holding 2 cups???  That's because her golfing achievements match her technological skills and she is also this year's winner of the Cup Winners Cup.  Virginia was unable to attend the AGM, so both cups were awarded to her today at the Stableford League presentation.

Stableford League

Congratulation to the four winners of this year's Stableford League competition.

There are four divisions within the league, which is played over nine rounds from March to November.  Over this time, players accrue points that are awarded to them for being placed 1st to 4th in their division.  This year's winners are:-

Div 4, Mary Hooper (24 league points)
Div 3, Maureen Freeman (26 league points)
Div 2, Jenny Feaver (20 league points)
Div 1, Kathy Dale (22 league points)

First place in Division 1 was hotly contested, with Kathy Just beating Chris Leary into 2nd place in the final round of the competition.

Well done to all the winners and thanks to all the ladies who took part.

Saturday 9 November 2013

Ladies v Men

The forecast for the day was not good, with heavy rain predicted from about 10.00 am onwards but that didn't stop the Ladies v Men competition going ahead with its usual enthusiasm and banter.  The rain did come and most 4balls made a decision to end their matches early.  Unfortunately, the result was a repeat of last year with the men lifting the Cup for the second year running with a 4:2 victory over the Ladies.  We finished the day with sandwiches and chips, where on behalf of the Ladies, I presented Phil Chester with the cup.  Well done to the Men's team for their victory.  We will have another go next year!  Thank you to all the Ladies who turned out in the rain to take part in today's competition.

Thursday 7 November 2013

Ladies' section AGM

Thank you to all the ladies who attended the Ladies Section AGM.  Megan Bonner was welcomed as our incoming Ladies' Captain and Brigid Kerr's nomination as Vice Captain was ratified.  Kathy Morris was re-elected to the Committee for a further 2-year term and the following 5 new members were elected to the 2014 Committee: Marica Kelland, Annette Axelsson, Virginia Chan, Pam Wilson and Jackie Reid. The proposal to introduce a £5.00 annual supplement was unanimously accepted and will come into effect from January 2014.
After the meeting a presentation of trophies took place, where I had the pleasure to present 19 Birdie Badges and 18 trophies.  It was a really enjoyable evening and I would like to say thank you to all of the ladies for their humorous card and the beautiful golf brooch they presented to me, together with a fabulous photo album, which shows in pictures the history of my year as Ladies Captain.  I was really touched by everyones' generosity and kind words.  I wish Megan, Brigid and the 2014 Committee all the best for the coming year.